- What You Actually Pay For: The Two-Step Fee Structure
- Initial Fees by Candidate Category
- Who Qualifies for the Reduced Rates
- Add-On Charges: Permit Extension, International Testing, Retakes
- Before You Pay: Eligibility Costs Hidden Outside the Fee Schedule
- Preparation Spending: What Is Official and What Is Optional
- The Long Game: Five-Year Renewal Costs
- Three Budget Scenarios
- Timing Your Spending Across the 90-Day Permit
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Regular HNB-BC initial cost is USD 495: USD 100 eligibility review plus USD 395 examination registration.
- Qualifying association members pay USD 450 combined; eligible endorsed-school graduates pay USD 400 combined.
- A retake within 12 months costs USD 225, with at least 30 days between attempts.
- Testing outside the United States and Canada adds USD 100, and a permit extension costs USD 100.
What You Actually Pay For: The Two-Step Fee Structure
Budgeting for the Holistic Nurse Baccalaureate Board Certified (HNB-BC) credential is more nuanced than looking up a single exam price. The examination is administered by C-NET, the Center for Nursing Education and Testing, on behalf of the American Holistic Nurses Credentialing Corporation (AHNCC), and it uses a two-step process: an eligibility review with payment first, then examination registration. Each step carries its own charge, and both are required.
That distinction matters because the commonly quoted "combined" figure is simply the arithmetic sum of the two required charges. It is not a standalone exam-only fee, and it does not include anything you might spend on preparation, a permit extension, or international testing. If you are still deciding whether to pursue the credential at all, our ROI analysis of the HNB-BC certification weighs these costs against career value, and the HNB-BC certification overview explains what the credential represents.
Step One: Eligibility Review
The first charge covers AHNCC and C-NET reviewing your application and documentation. You submit proof of an active unrestricted RN license, your nursing education, your holistic practice hours, and your continuing education. Only after eligibility is confirmed do you move to registration. Because the review fee is paid up front, an application that is later found ineligible still represents money spent, so confirm your qualifications against the HNB-BC requirements before you submit.
Step Two: Examination Registration
Once approved, you pay the examination registration fee and receive a testing permit. The permit is valid for 90 days, and registration and your government-issued identification must carry matching names. A name mismatch at the testing center can cost you the appointment, so treat that as a budget risk, not just a clerical detail.
Initial Fees by Candidate Category
Current initial fees, as published in the C-NET HNB page's fee image and the July 2025 Handbook for Candidates and Application, vary by candidate category:
| Candidate category | Eligibility review | Examination registration | Combined total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular / nonmember | USD 100 | USD 395 | USD 495 |
| Qualifying association member | USD 75 | USD 375 | USD 450 |
| Eligible endorsed-school graduate | USD 50 | USD 350 | USD 400 |
The gap between the regular and endorsed-school rate is USD 95, and the gap between regular and association-member pricing is USD 45. Those differences are modest relative to a typical nursing salary, but they are real money if you are paying out of pocket rather than through an employer reimbursement program.
Who Qualifies for the Reduced Rates
Association Member Pricing
The reduced rate is tied to membership in the listed organizations. One important clarification: AHNCC, the credentialing body, is distinct from the American Holistic Nurses Association (AHNA), the professional association. Association discounts are a pricing benefit, not an AHNCC membership requirement. You do not need to join anything to sit for the exam; you only join if the membership savings, combined with whatever other benefits you value, make sense for you. Before joining solely to capture the USD 45 difference, compare it with the association's dues, since the membership fee could easily exceed the exam savings.
Endorsed-School Graduate Pricing
The lowest rate belongs to graduates of AHNCC-endorsed academic programs. These graduates can apply within three years of completing the program. Under the March 2026 FAQ (Question 34), qualifying endorsed-program graduates meet the one-year practice and continuing-education requirements through their academic program, so separate documentation of those requirements is not needed. That is a non-fee cost saving as well, because you avoid assembling documentation for 48 continuing education hours.
Endorsement applies to the identified academic programs, not to every commercial preparation course, and it is not a universal waiver. Licensure, the relevant nursing degree, transcript, application, and the examination itself remain required. See the complete HNB-BC requirements breakdown for how the endorsed-school path interacts with standard eligibility.
Add-On Charges: Permit Extension, International Testing, Retakes
Several situations add to the base figure. Knowing them in advance prevents surprise charges.
Permit Extension: USD 100
Your testing permit is valid for 90 days. If you need more time, a single additional 90-day extension is available, but you must request it in writing before the initial window closes. The published extension fee is USD 100.
- Only one extension is offered, so the maximum permit window is 180 days.
- Missing the cutoff to request in writing means the extension option is gone.
- Extending costs roughly the same as the eligibility review for a regular candidate, so scheduling early is the cheaper path.
Testing Outside the United States and Canada: +USD 100
Candidates testing outside the United States and Canada pay an additional USD 100. This stacks on top of whichever category rate applies. International candidates also face separate eligibility routes, such as education and licensure equivalency reports through CGFNS, WES, or ERES (the March 2026 FAQ names TruMerit, WES, or ERES for the educational equivalency report needed above HN-BC), and those evaluations are paid to the third party, not to AHNCC or C-NET. Those third-party costs are not listed in the HNB-BC fee schedule, so verify them with each provider.
Retake Fee: USD 225
The currently linked July 2025 handbook explicitly publishes a USD 225 retake fee for attempts within 12 months of the initial examination. Retake rules that affect your budget:
- At least 30 days must separate attempts.
- Repeated reduced-rate retakes are allowed within the 12-month period.
- No new application is required for an eligible retake during that period.
Because the retake price is USD 225 against a combined initial cost of USD 400 to USD 495, a retake costs a little under half to somewhat more than half of the original outlay. For context on how candidates fare, read the HNB-BC pass rate analysis. The latest posted AHNCC period (January to June 2026) reports 103 examinations and 84 passes, an 82% pass rate, with eight in the Repeat column. Those figures are reported cohort results, not first-attempt-only rates or predictions for any individual.
Before You Pay: Eligibility Costs Hidden Outside the Fee Schedule
The fee schedule covers what AHNCC and C-NET charge. It does not capture the cost of meeting eligibility in the first place. For standard US candidates, eligibility includes:
- An active unrestricted RN license
- Graduation from a nationally accredited baccalaureate nursing program or a higher nursing degree
- One full-time year or 2,000 hours of holistic nursing practice within five years
- 48 relevant continuing nursing education hours within three years
- The candidate agreement and required eligibility documentation
The 48-hour continuing education requirement is where many candidates spend real money. Effective March 17, 2026, AHNCC extended the lookback from two years to three, superseding the older handbook wording. That change helps candidates who completed relevant CE somewhat earlier, because hours you already paid for may now still count. If you have a CE transcript, audit it before purchasing anything new; you may already be closer to 48 hours than you think.
If you are earlier in your career and still working toward the practice-hour threshold, the HNB-BC jobs overview describes where holistic nursing hours are typically earned.
Preparation Spending: What Is Official and What Is Optional
No preparation course is mandatory, and no fixed initial professional-reference count was verified as a requirement. The self-reflective assessment is recommended, not required. That means preparation spending is entirely at your discretion, which makes it the most controllable part of your budget.
The Official Practice Test
C-NET offers an official optional practice exam for HNB-BC with 63 questions at USD 65. The handbook allows two hours and a single use, and the practice software differs from the actual testing platform. Its score report shows overall and content-area performance, but there is no answer key, no explanations, and no item-by-item correctness, and questions cannot be revisited after scoring. It is not required and does not predict certification results. Treat it as a diagnostic snapshot of your standing across content areas rather than a learning tool.
Primary Preparation Resources
AHNCC identifies two primary resources: the exact Baccalaureate Prepared Holistic Nurse (HNB) Core Essentials and Competencies document (January 23, 2025) and the ANA/AHNA Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, third edition (2019). The competencies document is freely available from AHNCC. The Scope and Standards text is a purchased book, and its price varies by retailer, so check current pricing rather than assuming a figure.
Independently published exam guides and test-preparation books have not been vetted or approved by AHNCC. Marketplace listings that promise "actual exam questions" or "verified answers" deserve skepticism; seller authenticity claims are unvalidated, and the actual examination content is not something a legitimate resource should claim to reproduce. Spending money on an unvetted document is the easiest way to inflate your total without improving your odds.
Where Prep Spending Should Go
Because the exam is weighted unevenly, your money and hours are best directed toward the largest areas. The five domain weights are explicitly approximate:
| Domain | Approximate weight |
|---|---|
| Holistic Philosophy, Theories, and Ethics | 20% |
| Holistic Nurse Self-Reflection, Self-Development, and Self-Care | 9% |
| Holistic Caring Process | 37% |
| Holistic Communication, Therapeutic Relationships, Healing Environments, and Cultural Care | 23% |
| Holistic Education and Research | 11% |
The Holistic Caring Process alone carries roughly 37% of the content, and communication, relationships, healing environments, and cultural care carries roughly 23%. Together that is about 60% of the exam. If you buy or build practice material, make sure it gives the most depth to those two areas. Our guide to all five HNB-BC content areas goes through each one, and the HNB-BC study guide covers how to sequence your preparation. For free question practice with detailed rationales, try the HNB-BC practice test on our main site.
The Long Game: Five-Year Renewal Costs
Certification is valid for five years, so the true cost of holding the credential includes renewal. Based on the AHNCC Recertification Handbook (cover revised December 4, 2025) and the Interactive AHNCC Recertification Application Packet (March 27, 2026), renewal fees are:
| Renewal item | Cost |
|---|---|
| HNB renewal, regular | USD 325 |
| HNB renewal, eligible association member | USD 295 |
| PayPal handling fee (if paying by PayPal) | USD 3.25 |
What Renewal Requires Beyond the Fee
Renewal through continuing competency requires current unrestricted RN licensure, one full-time year or 2,000 relevant practice hours within five years, and 100 relevant continuing-competency hours (through CE or permitted equivalent professional development), plus a signed agreement and payment. The 100 hours is a meaningful cost driver if you pay for CE courses, so spreading them across the five-year cycle, and choosing hours that also serve your job, keeps the expense manageable. Renewal through examination is also offered, and no mandatory item-writing minimum applies to HNB-BC.
Note that some AHNCC navigation links still point to the February 8, 2024 recertification handbook. The newer December 2025 handbook and March 2026 application are the current documents, so use those figures rather than anything from the older file.
Three Budget Scenarios
To make these figures concrete, here are three illustrative paths using only published fees. They exclude CE tuition, book purchases, and third-party evaluations, since those vary and are not set by AHNCC or C-NET.
Scenario A: Regular Candidate, Passes on the First Attempt
USD 100 plus USD 395 equals USD 495. Add the optional USD 65 official practice test and the total is USD 560.
Scenario B: Endorsed-School Graduate, Passes on the First Attempt
USD 50 plus USD 350 equals USD 400. With the optional USD 65 practice test, the total is USD 465. The reduced fees and the documentation shortcut make this the least expensive route.
Scenario C: Regular Candidate, One Retake, Testing Abroad
USD 495 initial, plus USD 100 for testing outside the United States and Canada, plus USD 225 for one retake, totals USD 820. Whether the international surcharge applies again to the retake is not specified in the verified facts, so confirm that with C-NET before budgeting.
Whatever your scenario, a credential is only worth the money if it advances your goals. The HNB-BC salary guide addresses earnings honestly: Bureau of Labor Statistics data describes registered nurses as an occupation but does not establish a representative HNB-BC salary premium, so avoid assuming the fee will be recouped through a raise. Employer reimbursement, if offered, is the cleanest way to offset cost.
Timing Your Spending Across the 90-Day Permit
Because the permit window is fixed, timing is a cost-control tool. Here is how a prep calendar might map to the weighted domains, with the goal of finishing within 90 days so you never need the USD 100 extension. This is the only structured study schedule in this article, and it is built around the exam's actual weighting.
Audit and decide
- Confirm eligibility, including 48 CE hours within three years
- Compare your fee category (regular, member, endorsed-school)
- Decide whether you want the optional USD 65 practice test as a baseline
Holistic Caring Process (about 37%)
- Work through the competencies document for assessment, planning, intervention, and evaluation
- Spend the most time here because it is the largest area
Communication, Relationships, Healing Environments, and Cultural Care (about 23%)
- Study therapeutic presence, healing environments, and culturally congruent care
Philosophy, Theories, and Ethics (about 20%), then Education and Research (about 11%)
- Review holistic theories and ethical frameworks from the Scope and Standards text
- Cover teaching approaches and research literacy
Self-Reflection and Self-Care (about 9%), then full review
- Cover the smallest domain, then take timed mixed practice sets
- Schedule your exam before the permit's 90 days run out
The exam itself is computer-based and proctored, with up to 190 multiple-choice, single-answer questions, each with four response choices, and a three-hour time limit. You may mark, review, and change answers before final submission. The scored/unscored split is not publicly specified, and AHNCC publishes a 73% correct passing criterion, but a required raw correct-answer count cannot be derived from it. Details on exact scheduling windows are in the HNB-BC exam dates guide, and the passing score explainer covers how the 73% criterion works.
Key Takeaway
The cheapest way to earn the HNB-BC is to qualify for the lowest fee category you legitimately can, pass on the first attempt, and finish inside the 90-day permit. The three largest avoidable costs are the USD 225 retake, the USD 100 permit extension, and spending on unvetted study documents. Schedule your exam early in the permit window, concentrate preparation on the two heaviest domains, and keep a copy of your fee category confirmation.
Frequently Asked Questions
For a regular or nonmember candidate, the initial cost is USD 495: a USD 100 eligibility review plus a USD 395 examination registration fee. Qualifying association members pay USD 450 combined (USD 75 plus USD 375), and eligible endorsed-school graduates pay USD 400 combined (USD 50 plus USD 350). These combined figures are sums of two required charges, not exam-only fees.
The July 2025 handbook publishes a USD 225 retake fee for attempts within 12 months of the initial examination. You must wait at least 30 days between attempts, and no new application is required for an eligible retake in that period.
No. AHNCC and AHNA are distinct organizations, and association membership is not an AHNCC requirement. Membership only qualifies you for the reduced fee rates. Compare the savings against the cost of dues before joining for that reason alone.
Yes. Testing outside the United States and Canada adds USD 100. International candidates may also pay third-party fees for education or licensure equivalency reports through providers such as CGFNS, TruMerit, WES, or ERES, which are separate from AHNCC and C-NET charges.
Certification lasts five years. HNB renewal is USD 325 regular or USD 295 for eligible association members, with a separate USD 3.25 PayPal handling fee if you pay that way. Renewal also requires 100 relevant continuing-competency hours, one full-time year or 2,000 practice hours, and current unrestricted RN licensure.
If you are weighing the credential against your career goals, start with what HNB-BC certification is, review the HNB-BC exam difficulty guide, and then build confidence with free questions on our HNB-BC exam prep site before you commit your exam fee.