- The Official Passing Criterion: 73% Correct
- What 73% Does and Does Not Tell You
- Exam Mechanics That Frame the Score
- Where Your Points Come From: The Five Domains
- Cohort Results vs. Your Personal Odds
- If You Miss the Mark: Retake Rules and Costs
- Building a Plan Around the Score Target
- Reading Practice Scores Honestly
- Frequently Asked Questions
- AHNCC publishes a 73% correct passing criterion for the HNB-BC examination.
- The exam has a maximum of 190 items in three hours; the scored/unscored split is not public.
- Holistic Caring Process is about 37% of content, so it carries the most scoring weight.
- The January-June 2026 cohort reported 84 passes from 103 examinations (82%), which is not a personal prediction.
The Official Passing Criterion: 73% Correct
If you are searching for the HNB-BC passing score, here is the number that matters: the American Holistic Nurses Credentialing Corporation (AHNCC) publishes a 73% correct passing criterion for the Holistic Nurse Baccalaureate Board Certified (HNB-BC) examination. That figure appears on the issuer's pass/fail statistics page alongside the current question count of 190.
The examination itself is named the Holistic Baccalaureate Nursing Certification Examination in the AHNCC candidate handbook, and it is administered by C-NET, the Center for Nursing Education and Testing, with PSI identified as its test-delivery partner. The AHNCC is the credentialing body; C-NET handles eligibility review, registration, and testing. Keep that division in mind when you look for score information, because the criterion comes from AHNCC while your permit and testing logistics come from C-NET.
For a broader orientation to the credential before you dig into scoring, see What Is HNB-BC Certification?. If you want the full picture of how the exam's content is divided, the HNB-BC exam domains guide walks through all five areas.
What 73% Does and Does Not Tell You
A 73% criterion sounds simple, but it is easy to over-interpret. Here is what the published information supports and what it does not.
What is established
- The criterion is stated as a percentage of questions answered correctly: 73%.
- The current examination contains 190 questions, with the handbook describing 190 as a maximum.
- Each question is multiple choice with a single best answer from four response choices.
What is not established
- A required raw count. You might be tempted to multiply 190 by 0.73 and call the result your target. Do not. The number of scored versus unscored items is not publicly specified, so a raw correct-answer count cannot be reliably derived from the percentage.
- A per-domain minimum. The published materials describe an overall criterion. No separate passing threshold for each domain was verified, so you should not assume you can ignore a domain, nor that a weak domain automatically fails you.
- Scaled-score conversion. The issuer describes the criterion as percent correct. Treat it that way and avoid importing scaled-score assumptions from other certification exams.
Key Takeaway
Aim to be comfortably above 73% on honest practice, not exactly at it. Because you cannot see which items are scored, the safest strategy is to answer every question carefully and treat each one as if it counts.
Exam Mechanics That Frame the Score
Your score is a product of knowledge and test-day execution. The format details below shape how you should pace yourself and manage your answers.
| Feature | HNB-BC Detail |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | AHNCC |
| Administrator | C-NET (PSI named as test-delivery partner) |
| Passing criterion | 73% correct |
| Questions | 190 current items (handbook describes a maximum of 190) |
| Time allowed | Three hours |
| Question type | Multiple choice, single answer, four choices |
| Delivery | Proctored, computer based, year round, in English |
| Review | Candidates may mark, review, and change answers before final submission |
Three hours for up to 190 items works out to a little under one minute per question if you used every item and every minute, so pacing is a real part of the challenge. The ability to mark and revisit questions helps: answer what you can on the first pass, flag the ones that need more thought, and use the remaining time to return to them.
Whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are allowed, and whether at-home proctoring is offered were not verified from the public materials. The handbook directs candidates to the testing rules attached to their individual permit, so read those rules when your permit arrives rather than relying on forum posts.
Where Your Points Come From: The Five Domains
The 73% criterion applies to the whole exam, but the exam is not evenly distributed. The handbook publishes five content areas with approximate weights that sum to 100%. These percentages are explicitly approximate, not guaranteed item counts, so use them to prioritize rather than to predict exact question numbers.
Domain 3: Holistic Caring Process (approx. 37%)
The largest slice of the exam by a wide margin. Questions here test how holistic nursing applies within the caring process, so expect scenario-based items that ask what a holistic nurse would do or prioritize with a client.
- Roughly more than one in three questions comes from this area.
- Practice applying the process to varied clinical situations, not just reciting definitions.
- Holistic practice depends on philosophy and relationship with clients, not on using particular complementary modalities, which is a distinction worth keeping clear.
Domain 4: Holistic Communication, Therapeutic Relationships, Healing Environments, and Cultural Care (approx. 23%)
The second-largest area. It covers how a holistic nurse communicates, builds therapeutic relationships, shapes healing environments, and delivers culturally responsive care.
- Expect situational items on communication choices and relationship dynamics.
- Cultural care questions reward respectful, client-centered reasoning.
Domain 1: Holistic Philosophy, Theories, and Ethics (approx. 20%)
The foundation: the philosophy and theories behind holistic nursing and the ethical commitments that guide practice.
- Know the core concepts well, since they underpin reasoning in other domains.
- Ethics questions often ask you to choose the most appropriate response among plausible options.
Domain 5: Holistic Education and Research (approx. 11%)
Smaller, but not negligible. It covers education and research as they relate to holistic nursing practice.
Domain 2: Holistic Nurse Self-Reflection, Self-Development, and Self-Care (approx. 9%)
The smallest area, focused on the nurse's own reflection, development, and self-care as part of holistic practice.
A companion AHNCC document, the Baccalaureate Prepared Holistic Nurse Core Essentials and Competencies (January 23, 2025), carries a preliminary blueprint with ranges of 19-21%, 8-10%, 36-38%, 22-24%, and 10-12%. Those ranges are compatible with the handbook's approximate weights. The handbook percentages are not calculated midpoints of the ranges, so cite the handbook figures when you need a single number per domain.
The takeaway for scoring is straightforward: Domains 3 and 4 together account for roughly 60% of the exam. A candidate who is excellent on those two and merely adequate elsewhere has a very different outlook from one who studies all five evenly. Our HNB-BC study guide turns these weights into a preparation sequence.
Cohort Results vs. Your Personal Odds
AHNCC's pass/fail statistics page posts results by reporting period. Two recent periods are useful context, as long as you read them carefully.
| Reporting Period | Examinations | Passes | Reported Pass Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| July-December 2025 | 80 | 63 | 79% |
| January-June 2026 | 103 | 84 | 82% |
For January-June 2026, the page also reports 19 failures and eight examinations in a Repeat column. These numbers are real and useful, but they come with limits:
- They are cohort results, not first-attempt-only rates.
- They cover a half-year window, not a full year of 2026.
- They describe a group, not any individual candidate's chance of passing.
- Cohorts of roughly 80 to 100 examinations are small enough that period-to-period swings should not be over-read.
For a deeper treatment of the statistics, read the HNB-BC pass rate breakdown, and for a realistic read on difficulty, see How Hard Is the HNB-BC Exam?.
If You Miss the Mark: Retake Rules and Costs
Falling short of 73% is not the end of the road, and the retake structure is relatively forgiving. The July 2025 handbook publishes the following:
- Retake fee: USD 225 for a retake within 12 months of the initial examination.
- Waiting period: at least 30 days between attempts.
- Repeat attempts: repeated reduced-rate retakes are allowed within that 12-month period.
- Application: no new application is required for an eligible retake within that window.
Compare that with the initial fees. The regular/nonmember initial cost is USD 100 for eligibility review plus USD 395 for examination registration, a combined USD 495. Qualifying association members pay USD 75 plus USD 375 (USD 450 combined), and eligible endorsed-school graduates pay USD 50 plus USD 350 (USD 400 combined). Testing outside the United States and Canada adds USD 100. The combined figures are simple sums of the two required charges, not examination-only fees.
Permit timing matters too. The testing permit is valid for 90 days, and a single additional 90-day extension can be requested in writing before the initial window closes, with a published USD 100 extension fee. Registration and your government-issued identification must show matching names. A mismatch is an avoidable way to lose an attempt before you ever see a question. For the full fee picture, see the HNB-BC certification cost breakdown, and for eligibility details, the HNB-BC requirements guide.
Building a Plan Around the Score Target
Because the criterion is a single overall percentage and the domains are weighted unevenly, your preparation should be weighted too. The sequence below ties the weeks to specific HNB-BC domains and explains why each comes when it does.
Build the Foundation: Domain 1
- Work through holistic philosophy, theories, and ethics (approx. 20%).
- Use the AHNCC-identified primary resources: the HNB Core Essentials and Competencies and the ANA/AHNA Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, third edition (2019).
- Why first: these concepts supply the vocabulary and reasoning used in every other domain.
Go Deep on the Heaviest Domain: Domain 3
- Spend the largest block of time on the Holistic Caring Process (approx. 37%).
- Write and answer your own scenario items, explaining why each wrong option is wrong.
- Why here: this domain moves the most points, so it earns the most repetitions.
Communication and Care Context: Domain 4
- Cover therapeutic relationships, healing environments, and cultural care (approx. 23%).
- Practice choosing the most client-centered response among several plausible ones.
Cover the Smaller Domains, Then Integrate
- Review Domain 5 (education and research, approx. 11%) and Domain 2 (self-reflection, self-development, and self-care, approx. 9%).
- Finish with a mixed, timed run to rehearse three-hour pacing and the mark-and-review habit.
This is a template, not a mandate. If your work experience is already heavy in client communication, you may compress Domain 4 and expand Domain 1. The principle is what matters: allocate time in proportion to weight and to your own gaps. A fuller walkthrough lives in our first-attempt study guide.
Reading Practice Scores Honestly
Practice results are only useful if you interpret them with the right expectations. The official optional practice test from C-NET offers 63 questions for USD 65, with a two-hour allowance and a single use per the handbook. Its score report shows overall and content-area performance, but it provides no answer key, no explanations, and no item-by-item correctness, and you cannot revisit questions after scoring. It also runs on software that differs from the real testing platform.
Two implications follow:
- It is a diagnostic, not a predictor. The product is not required and does not predict certification results. Use its content-area breakdown to see where you are weakest, then study those areas with other tools.
- You must supply your own rationales. Since the official report does not explain answers, your learning comes from reviewing the underlying concepts in the Core Essentials and Competencies and the Scope and Standards text.
When you score practice sets, track results by domain rather than only as a single percentage. A solid overall number can hide a weak Domain 3, which is the area where a gap costs the most. If you want a compact refresher near exam week, the HNB-BC cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts, and you can also review the main practice test page for additional question practice.
Key Takeaway
Treat 73% as a floor, not a goal. Build a margin by being strongest where the exam is heaviest: Holistic Caring Process first, then communication, relationships, healing environments, and cultural care.
Frequently Asked Questions
AHNCC publishes a 73% correct passing criterion for the HNB-BC examination. The current exam has 190 questions, though the handbook describes 190 as a maximum, and the split between scored and unscored items is not publicly specified.
A specific raw number cannot be reliably calculated, because the scored/unscored allocation is unpublished. Multiplying 190 by 73% would assume every item is scored, which is not confirmed. The safest approach is to aim well above 73% on realistic practice.
No. The passing score is 73% correct. The pass rate is the share of candidates who passed in a reporting period: 79% for July-December 2025 and 82% for January-June 2026. Those are cohort results, not first-attempt rates or predictions for any individual.
The exam allows three hours. You can mark questions, review them, and change answers before you submit your final responses, so flagging uncertain items and returning to them is a workable pacing strategy.
You can retake the exam. The July 2025 handbook lists a USD 225 retake fee within 12 months of the initial attempt, at least 30 days between attempts, and no new application for an eligible retake in that period. Check the current handbook before scheduling, and see our exam dates and scheduling guide for timing considerations.