HNB-BC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

HNB-BC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • HNB-BC testing is offered year round, so there are no fixed seasonal windows to miss.
  • Your testing permit is valid 90 days, with one 90-day extension available for USD 100 if requested in writing before it expires.
  • The registration name must match your government-issued ID exactly, or you risk being turned away.
  • Retakes require at least 30 days between attempts and a USD 225 fee within 12 months of your first exam.

How HNB-BC Testing Works: Year-Round, Not Seasonal

Many nurses searching for "HNB-BC exam dates 2026" expect a calendar of fixed testing windows, the way some certification bodies publish spring and fall sittings. The Holistic Nurse Baccalaureate Board Certified (HNB-BC) examination does not work that way. The American Holistic Nurses Credentialing Corporation (AHNCC) credential is administered by C-NET, the Center for Nursing Education and Testing, with PSI identified as its test-delivery partner. The proctored, computer-based exam is offered year round in English.

That means your "date" is not something the issuer assigns. It is something you create by moving through a two-step process, receiving a testing permit, and booking an appointment inside the permit's validity period. The real deadlines are therefore personal: the 90-day permit clock, the 30-day gap between attempts, and the eligibility look-back periods that determine when you can apply at all.

Why "no fixed windows" matters: Year-round availability removes the pressure of a single cutoff, but it also removes the structure. Without a calendar forcing your hand, it is easy to let an approved permit run down. Treat the permit expiration, not a published testing season, as your hard deadline.

If you are still confirming whether you qualify to apply, read HNB-BC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify before you plan dates, because eligibility review comes first.

The 90-Day Testing Permit: Your Real Deadline

The single most important timing rule for HNB-BC candidates is the testing permit. Once your eligibility is approved and you complete examination registration, you receive a permit that is valid for 90 days. Your appointment must fall inside that window.

Extension Rules

If life intervenes, a single additional 90-day extension is available. The conditions are specific:

  • The request must be made in writing.
  • It must be submitted before the initial 90-day window closes.
  • The published extension fee is USD 100.
  • Only one extension is described, so plan as though you have at most about 180 days from permit issuance.

The handbook also directs candidates to their permit-specific testing rules for details such as what may be brought into the testing room. Open-book status, calculator permission, and at-home proctoring were not verified for this exam, so do not assume any of them. Read the instructions that arrive with your permit rather than relying on forum posts or another credential's rules.

Key Takeaway

Do not pay the examination registration charge until you are within roughly a few weeks of being study-ready. Registration starts the 90-day clock, and an extension costs USD 100 on top of what you have already paid.

The Two-Step Path From Application to Appointment

C-NET uses a two-step structure that separates eligibility from scheduling. Understanding it helps you estimate how many days to allow before you can sit for the exam.

  1. Eligibility review and payment. You submit your application and supporting documentation (RN licensure, nursing education, holistic practice, continuing education, and the candidate agreement) along with the eligibility review fee.
  2. Examination registration. After approval, you complete registration and pay the examination registration charge, which produces your testing permit.
  3. Scheduling. With the permit in hand, you book an appointment within the 90-day validity period.

Because the handbook does not publish a guaranteed review turnaround, build a buffer. A reasonable approach is to submit your application well before the date you hope to test, rather than assuming approval will arrive instantly.

Name-match rule: The name on your registration and the name on your government-issued identification must match. If you changed your name after licensure, or your license carries a middle name your ID omits, resolve the discrepancy before test day. A mismatch can derail an appointment you have already paid for.

Fees That Affect Your Timeline

Cost and timing are linked for HNB-BC candidates, because the two-step design means you pay at two different moments. The current initial fees from the C-NET HNB-BC page and the July 2025 handbook are below. The combined figures are simple sums of the two required charges.

Candidate CategoryEligibility ReviewExamination RegistrationCombined
Regular / nonmemberUSD 100USD 395USD 495
Qualifying association memberUSD 75USD 375USD 450
Eligible endorsed-school graduateUSD 50USD 350USD 400

Two timing-related add-ons are worth knowing:

  • Testing outside the United States and Canada adds USD 100.
  • Permit extension costs USD 100 if you need the second 90-day period.

Membership discounts come from association memberships and are not AHNCC membership requirements; AHNCC is distinct from the American Holistic Nurses Association (AHNA). Source wording for the qualifying organizations differs slightly between the live fee image and the handbook, so confirm your category directly with C-NET before paying. For a fuller breakdown of every charge, see HNB-BC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Planning Backward From Your Target Test Date

Because there are no fixed windows, the smartest scheduling approach works backward from a date you choose. This is the one place where a study timeline earns its keep, and it should be tied to how the HNB-BC blueprint is weighted. The five domains carry approximate (not exact) weights: Holistic Philosophy, Theories, and Ethics at about 20%; Holistic Nurse Self-Reflection, Self-Development, and Self-Care at about 9%; Holistic Caring Process at about 37%; Holistic Communication, Therapeutic Relationships, Healing Environments, and Cultural Care at about 23%; and Holistic Education and Research at about 11%.

Before registering

Foundation reading

  • Work through the AHNCC-identified primary resources: the HNB Core Essentials and Competencies and the ANA/AHNA Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, third edition.
  • Cover Holistic Philosophy, Theories, and Ethics first, since its vocabulary underpins the other domains.
Weeks 1-4 of the permit window

Heaviest domain

  • Devote the most time to the Holistic Caring Process, the largest domain at roughly 37%.
  • Practice applying the process to client scenarios rather than memorizing definitions.
Weeks 5-8

Relationships and culture

  • Study communication, therapeutic relationships, healing environments, and cultural care (about 23%).
  • Fold in Self-Reflection and Education/Research as lighter, high-yield reviews.
Final 2 weeks

Mixed review and logistics

  • Confirm your appointment, ID match, and travel plan.
  • Do mixed-domain practice questions; see our practice test site for scenario-style items.

The weights are approximate, so use them to prioritize rather than to predict exact question counts. For domain-by-domain detail, see HNB-BC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas, and for an overall study approach, HNB-BC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Retake Timing and the 12-Month Window

Scheduling a retake is governed by a few published rules, and knowing them before your first attempt reduces stress:

  • C-NET requires at least 30 days between attempts.
  • Retakes within 12 months of the initial examination cost USD 225, per the currently linked July 2025 handbook.
  • Repeated reduced-rate retakes are allowed within that 12-month period.
  • No new application is required for an eligible retake during that period.

The 30-day minimum is a floor, not a recommendation. Use the gap to review your score report by content area and rebuild the weakest domain. The latest posted cohort data (January-June 2026) shows 103 examinations, 84 passes, 19 failures, and an 82% pass rate, with eight in the Repeat column. These are reported cohort results, not first-attempt-only rates or predictions for any individual. For context, see HNB-BC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and HNB-BC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Don't confuse cohort pass rate with your odds: The posted 73% passing criterion and the cohort pass rate answer different questions. The criterion describes what a passing performance looks like; the cohort rate describes how a posted group performed. Neither tells you how you will score.

Eligibility Clocks That Can Delay Your Date

Your earliest realistic test date depends on whether you meet the standard U.S. eligibility requirements, several of which have look-back periods:

  • An active, unrestricted RN license.
  • Graduation from a nationally accredited baccalaureate nursing program or a higher nursing degree.
  • One full-time year or 2,000 hours of holistic nursing practice within the past five years.
  • 48 relevant continuing-nursing-education hours within three years.
  • The candidate agreement and required eligibility documentation.

The CE look-back matters for scheduling. Effective March 17, 2026, AHNCC extended the 48-hour lookback from two years to three, superseding the older handbook's two-year wording. If you were short on recent hours under the old rule, you may now qualify sooner than expected. Holistic practice can occur in varied clinical settings; it depends on your nursing philosophy and relationships with clients rather than on using particular complementary modalities.

Endorsed-School Graduates

Graduates of identified AHNCC-endorsed academic programs who apply within three years of graduation can satisfy the one-year practice and continuing-education requirements through their academic program, per the March 2026 FAQ. Licensure, the relevant nursing degree, transcript, application, and examination remain required, and endorsement applies to the identified programs rather than to every commercial preparation course.

International Candidates

International routes are separate from standard U.S. eligibility. The C-NET page describes education and licensure equivalency through CGFNS, WES, or ERES, plus an unrestricted home-country nursing license for applicants who will practice outside the United States. A U.S. RN license is required for U.S. employment. Equivalency reports take time, so international candidates should start the process earlier than domestic applicants. Testing outside the United States and Canada also adds USD 100.

Test-Day Logistics: Format, Duration, and Identification

Once your appointment is booked, knowing the exam's structure helps you pick an appropriate time of day. The examination has these characteristics:

  • Length: up to 190 items, per the issuer's statistics page and handbook. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly specified.
  • Time: three hours, per the March 2026 FAQ and the July 2025 FAQ. The older December 2023 FAQ listed four hours and is superseded for this detail.
  • Question style: multiple choice, single answer, four response choices.
  • Navigation: you may mark, review, and change answers before final submission.
  • Delivery: proctored and computer based.

Do not mix up timers. The four-hour exam belongs to a different AHNCC credential (the APHN exam), and the two-hour limit applies to the optional practice test, not the HNB-BC certification exam. Three hours for as many as 190 questions works out to under a minute per item on average, so pacing matters. Choose an appointment time when you are typically most alert, and avoid scheduling after a long clinical shift.

Key Takeaway

The three-hour limit is the current figure from AHNCC's March 2026 FAQ. If you see a four-hour claim on a third-party site, check its date against the issuer's document before adjusting your pacing strategy.

Using the Official Practice Test as a Scheduling Checkpoint

C-NET offers an optional practice exam of 63 questions for USD 65. The handbook describes a two-hour allowance and a single use. It reports overall and content-area performance but provides no answer key, explanations, or item-by-item correctness, and questions cannot be revisited after scoring. The practice software also differs from the real testing platform. It is not required and does not predict certification results, but some candidates take it a few weeks before their appointment as a rough checkpoint. For explanation-rich practice, supplement it with our practice questions.

If you are unsure how demanding the exam is before committing to a date, How Hard Is the HNB-BC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 can help you calibrate.

After You Pass: The Five-Year Certification Clock

Passing starts a new set of dates. HNB-BC certification is valid for five years, and certification expires on the last day of its stated month. Renewal is available through continuing competency or through examination.

Renewal ItemRequirement
LicensureCurrent, unrestricted RN license
PracticeOne full-time year or 2,000 relevant hours within five years
Continuing competency100 relevant hours through CE or permitted equivalent professional development
Paperwork and feeSigned agreement; USD 325 regular or USD 295 eligible association member (plus a separately specified USD 3.25 PayPal handling fee if applicable)

If you fail to renew, certification becomes inactive; you may not use the credential or backdate renewal. A three-year inactive reinstatement period exists, but it does not extend active certification, and after it ends an examination is required. Renewing certification does not replace maintaining your underlying nursing license. These details come from the December 2025 Recertification Handbook and the March 2026 application packet, which supersede the older February 2024 handbook still linked from some navigation pages.

Once certified, many nurses explore how the credential fits their career. See Is the HNB-BC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and HNB-BC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis for an honest look at outcomes; note that registered nurse occupational data does not establish a specific HNB-BC salary premium.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there set HNB-BC exam dates or testing windows in 2026?

No. The HNB-BC examination is offered year round through C-NET. Your effective schedule is driven by your approved eligibility, your 90-day testing permit, and the appointment you book within that period.

How long is my HNB-BC testing permit valid?

The permit is valid for 90 days. You may request a single additional 90-day extension in writing before the initial window closes; the published extension fee is USD 100.

How soon can I retake the HNB-BC exam after a failed attempt?

C-NET requires at least 30 days between attempts. Retakes within 12 months of your initial exam cost USD 225, and no new application is needed for an eligible retake in that period.

How long is the HNB-BC exam, and how many questions does it have?

The exam allows three hours and includes up to 190 multiple-choice, single-answer questions with four options each. You can mark, review, and change answers before submitting. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly specified.

What happens if the name on my registration doesn't match my ID?

Registration and government-issued identification names must match. A mismatch can prevent you from testing, so correct any discrepancy with C-NET well before your appointment rather than on test day.

Ready to pass your HNB-BC exam?

Put this into practice with free HNB-BC questions across every exam domain.