HNB-BC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is HNB-BC?

TL;DR
  • HNB-BC is the baccalaureate-level holistic nursing certification issued by the American Holistic Nurses Credentialing Center (AHNCC).
  • The exam has a maximum of 190 multiple-choice questions, a three-hour limit, and a published 73% correct passing criterion.
  • Holistic Caring Process carries roughly 37% of the blueprint, making it the single largest domain.
  • Standard eligibility requires an active RN license, a baccalaureate or higher nursing degree, 2,000 practice hours, and 48 CE hours.

What HNB-BC Actually Means

HNB-BC stands for Holistic Nurse Baccalaureate Board Certified. It is a specialty nursing credential for registered nurses who practice holistic nursing and hold at least a baccalaureate-level nursing education. The "BC" signals board certification; the "HNB" signals the baccalaureate-prepared holistic nurse level. If you have seen shorter explainers such as What Does HNB-BC Stand For? or HNB-BC Meaning, this article goes further by walking through the exam, eligibility, fees, renewal, and how the credential compares with its neighbors.

Holistic nursing, as this certification frames it, is less about a menu of complementary modalities and more about a nursing philosophy and the nurse's relationship with clients. A holistic nurse can work in a hospital unit, a clinic, a community program, or a private practice. What the credential verifies is that you can apply holistic principles in practice, not that you perform any particular technique.

Who Issues and Administers the Credential

The certification is governed by the American Holistic Nurses Credentialing Center (AHNCC), which publicly identifies itself as the American Holistic Nurses Credentialing Corporation. AHNCC is a separate body from the American Holistic Nurses Association (AHNA). That distinction matters in practice: AHNA membership can earn a fee discount, but it is not an AHNCC membership requirement and it does not make you certified.

Day-to-day testing is handled by C-NET, the Center for Nursing Education and Testing, which administers the examination with PSI identified as its test-delivery partner. When you apply, pay, and schedule, you are dealing with C-NET's process, while the credential itself belongs to AHNCC. The official handbook names the selected test the Holistic Baccalaureate Nursing Certification Examination.

Why the issuer matters: Several unrelated credentials share similar abbreviations. When you check a job posting, a study product, or a practice test, confirm it refers to the AHNCC baccalaureate holistic nursing certification, and verify names against the issuer's service-marks page.

The Examination at a Glance

The exam is proctored and computer based, offered year round in English. Questions are multiple choice with a single best answer from four response choices. Candidates can mark items, review them, and change answers before final submission, which makes pacing strategy more flexible than on exams that lock each answer.

FeatureHNB-BC Detail
Question countMaximum of 190 (issuer statistics page lists 190)
Time allowedThree hours
FormatMultiple choice, one answer, four options
DeliveryProctored, computer based, year round, English
Passing criterion73% correct, as published by AHNCC
Testing permitValid 90 days; one 90-day extension available by written request
Review before submissionMark, review, and change answers allowed

Some details are not publicly specified, including how many of the 190 items are scored versus unscored, so you cannot convert 73% into a fixed raw score. Rules on calculators, open-book status, and remote proctoring were not verified; the handbook directs candidates to the testing rules attached to their permit. For scheduling specifics, see HNB-BC Exam Dates, and for how scoring is described, see HNB-BC Passing Score.

The Five Content Domains

The blueprint in the July 2025 candidate handbook organizes content into five domains. The percentages are explicitly approximate and sum to 100%; they are not guaranteed item counts. A companion AHNCC document, the Baccalaureate Prepared Holistic Nurse Core Essentials and Competencies (January 2025), published preliminary ranges consistent with these weights. The competency standards in that document are a separate framework from the exam domains, so do not confuse the two.

Domain 1: Holistic Philosophy, Theories, and Ethics (about 20%)

The conceptual foundation of holistic nursing practice.

  • Core values and philosophy of holistic nursing
  • Theories that frame whole-person care
  • Ethical reasoning in holistic practice

Domain 2: Holistic Nurse Self-Reflection, Self-Development, and Self-Care (about 9%)

The smallest domain, but one that distinguishes holistic nursing from many other specialties.

  • Reflective practice and self-awareness
  • Professional growth and development
  • Self-care as part of sustainable practice

Domain 3: Holistic Caring Process (about 37%)

The largest domain by a wide margin. Expect scenario-driven questions about applying the nursing process through a holistic lens.

  • Assessment that considers the whole person, not just the presenting problem
  • Planning, intervention, and evaluation grounded in client goals
  • Selecting responses that fit the situation rather than defaulting to a single modality

Domain 4: Holistic Communication, Therapeutic Relationships, Healing Environments, and Cultural Care (about 23%)

The second-largest domain, covering how the nurse relates to clients and shapes the care setting.

  • Therapeutic communication and presence
  • Building healing environments
  • Culturally responsive care

Domain 5: Holistic Education and Research (about 11%)

How holistic nurses teach and use evidence.

  • Client and community education
  • Evidence-informed practice
  • Research literacy at the baccalaureate level

Domains 3 and 4 together account for roughly 60% of the blueprint, so they deserve the largest share of your attention. A deeper breakdown is available in HNB-BC Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.

Who Can Sit for the Exam

Standard US eligibility has several components that all have to be met and documented:

  • An active, unrestricted RN license
  • Graduation from a nationally accredited baccalaureate nursing program, or a higher nursing degree
  • One full-time year, or 2,000 hours, of holistic nursing practice within the past five years
  • 48 relevant continuing nursing education hours within three years
  • The candidate agreement and required eligibility documentation

Effective March 17, 2026, AHNCC extended the continuing education lookback from two years to three, so older handbook wording about two years is superseded. A self-reflective assessment is recommended but not required, and no mandatory preparation course was identified.

Endorsed-school graduates

Graduates of AHNCC-endorsed academic programs who apply within three years meet the practice-hour and continuing education requirements through their academic program, so they do not document those separately. Licensure, the relevant nursing degree, transcript, application, and the exam itself are still required. Endorsement applies to specific academic programs, not to every commercial prep course.

International applicants

International routes are separate from standard US eligibility. The C-NET page describes education and licensure equivalency through CGFNS, WES, or ERES, plus an unrestricted home-country nursing license, for applicants who will practice outside the US. A US RN license is required for US employment. For the full checklist, see HNB-BC Requirements.

Fees and Registration Mechanics

Registration is a two-step process: first an eligibility review with payment, then examination registration. Your registered name must match your government-issued identification.

Applicant CategoryEligibility ReviewExam RegistrationCombined
Regular / nonmemberUSD 100USD 395USD 495
Qualifying association memberUSD 75USD 375USD 450
Eligible endorsed-school graduateUSD 50USD 350USD 400

The combined totals are simple sums of the two required charges. Testing outside the United States and Canada adds USD 100. A 90-day permit extension costs USD 100. If you do not pass, the retake fee within 12 months of the initial exam is USD 225; retakes must be at least 30 days apart, and an eligible retake within that period does not need a new application. For the complete financial picture, read HNB-BC Certification Cost.

Member-category wording: The live fee image lists AHNA, HMA, and NOVA, while the handbook lists AHNA, FBCN, and NOVA, explaining that FBCN includes HMA and that the NOVA category includes veterans and current military. Confirm your category on the official page before paying.

Passing Criterion vs. Cohort Results

AHNCC publishes a 73% correct passing criterion for HNB-BC. Separately, it posts cohort results by reporting period. The latest posted period, January through June 2026, reports 103 examinations, 84 passes, 19 failures, and an 82% pass rate. The preceding July through December 2025 period reports 63 passes from 80 examinations, or 79%.

Treat these as reported cohort results. They are not first-attempt-only rates, not full-year figures, and not a prediction of your own outcome. Small cohorts also mean the percentages can shift noticeably from period to period. More context appears in HNB-BC Pass Rate: What the Data Shows and How Hard Is the HNB-BC Exam?

HNB-BC, HN-BC, and Other AHNCC Credentials

AHNCC offers several holistic nursing certifications at different education levels, and candidates often confuse them. HNB-BC is the baccalaureate-prepared credential. HN-BC is a different AHNCC credential, and advanced credentials such as the APHN exam have their own handbooks, timers, and rules. Educational equivalency reports for international applicants, for example, are named in the FAQ in connection with levels above HN-BC.

The practical takeaway: do not borrow details from another credential's materials. The four-hour APHN exam is not the HNB-BC timer, and changes announced for advanced credentials in June 2025 are not applied to HNB-BC. Always match your resource to the Holistic Baccalaureate Nursing Certification Examination named in the July 2025 handbook.

Staying Certified: The Five-Year Cycle

Certification is valid for five years and expires on the last day of its stated month. Renewal through continuing competency requires:

  • Current unrestricted RN licensure (the application also accepts a validated international RN license)
  • One full-time year or 2,000 relevant practice hours within five years
  • 100 relevant continuing-competency hours through CE or permitted equivalent professional development
  • A signed agreement and payment

Renewal by examination is also offered, and no mandatory item-writing minimum applies to HNB-BC. Renewal fees are USD 325 regular or USD 295 for eligible association members, with a separate USD 3.25 PayPal handling fee specified in the application. If you let certification lapse, it becomes inactive; you cannot use the credential or backdate it, and the three-year inactive reinstatement window does not extend active status. After that window, examination is required. Renewing certification does not replace maintaining your underlying nursing license.

Where the Credential Fits in a Career

Holistic nursing is practiced across varied clinical settings, so there is no single employer type that hires for HNB-BC. Hospitals with integrative or healing-environment programs, outpatient and community clinics, wellness and coaching practices, and academic settings are all plausible homes for holistic practice. The credential serves mainly as a verified signal of your knowledge and commitment, and in some settings as support for role advancement or program leadership.

On compensation, be cautious. The Bureau of Labor Statistics describes registered nursing as an occupation, but it does not establish a representative salary premium for HNB-BC. Anyone quoting a specific certification bonus without a source is guessing. See HNB-BC Salary Guide, HNB-BC Jobs, and Is the HNB-BC Certification Worth It? for a more careful treatment.

Preparing With the Blueprint

AHNCC identifies two primary preparation resources: the Baccalaureate Prepared Holistic Nurse Core Essentials and Competencies and the ANA/AHNA text Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, third edition (2019). Independently published exam guides have not been vetted or approved by AHNCC, so judge them against these sources.

The official optional practice exam from C-NET offers 63 questions for USD 65, allows two hours and a single use, and uses software that differs from the real testing platform. Its score report shows overall and content-area performance but no answer key or item-level explanations, and it does not predict certification results. That makes self-made rationales and scenario practice especially valuable.

Weeks 1-2

Domain 1 and Domain 2 foundations

  • Read the philosophy, theory, and ethics sections of the Scope and Standards text
  • Journal on reflective practice so Domain 2 concepts become concrete
Weeks 3-5

Domain 3 Holistic Caring Process

  • Work scenarios applying assessment through evaluation with a whole-person lens
  • Write a one-line rationale for why each wrong option fails
Weeks 6-7

Domain 4 and Domain 5

  • Practice communication, healing environment, and cultural care scenarios
  • Review education and research basics
Week 8

Timed mixed review

  • Simulate a three-hour sitting and use mark-and-review deliberately

Front-loading Domain 3 reflects its roughly 37% weight, while Domain 2 is small but conceptually linked to Domain 1, so it pairs naturally with it. For a fuller plan, see HNB-BC Study Guide: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, the quick-reference HNB-BC Cheat Sheet, and the HNB-BC practice test for scenario-based questions with rationales.

Key Takeaway

Anchor your preparation to the five blueprint domains and the 190-question, three-hour format, and verify every fee and eligibility detail against the current AHNCC and C-NET pages before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does HNB-BC stand for?

It stands for Holistic Nurse Baccalaureate Board Certified, a specialty certification issued by the American Holistic Nurses Credentialing Center for baccalaureate-prepared holistic nurses.

How many questions are on the exam and how long do I have?

The exam has a maximum of 190 multiple-choice questions with four answer choices each, and you have three hours. The split between scored and unscored items is not publicly specified.

Which domain is weighted most heavily?

Holistic Caring Process is the largest at approximately 37%, followed by Holistic Communication, Therapeutic Relationships, Healing Environments, and Cultural Care at approximately 23%. The weights are approximate, not guaranteed item counts.

What is the passing score?

AHNCC publishes a 73% correct passing criterion. Because the number of scored items is not published, a specific required raw score cannot be derived from that percentage.

How long does the certification last, and how do I renew?

Certification lasts five years. You can renew through continuing competency (RN license, 2,000 practice hours or one full-time year, and 100 relevant hours) or by examination, with a regular renewal fee of USD 325.

Ready to pass your HNB-BC exam?

Put this into practice with free HNB-BC questions across every exam domain.